Respite from the Madness

DSC_9436

I found this “secret” place the other day, which I think will remain untouched by the influx of the “millions” of visitors expected in Phoenix over the next week or so: first for the Pro Bowl, followed by the Phoenix Open, and culminating with the Super Bowl.

DSC_9443

Ugh, I dread the drive to work which is close to where the Phoenix Open will be and goes past numerous resorts which will be jam-packed full of people rushing to all the concerts, restaurants, and events. I should have asked for the week off…

DSC_9429

The big party place at the Phoenix Open is called the “Birds Nest.” A lot of drunken revelers will be there trying to score, one way or another. I’d rather be at this bird’s nest, above, but I probably won’t be able to get anywhere other than work or home…and not very easily, at that.

Buttercup Oxalis 1.15

So I’m trying to soak up a little beauty and quiet to remember during all the madness.

DSC_9434

Verdin 1.16.15

I don’t like football or golf and I’m too old for drunken revelry so I’m not seeing where the upside to all this is for me. I don’t buy the whole trickle-down economics thing.

DSC_9526

Geranium 1.24.15

Mock 2

Feather

DSC_9445

Verdin Butt 1.16.15

My Verdin friend and I have the same opinion about the next few days.

11 responses to “Respite from the Madness

  1. I’d be with you. Couldn’t even come close to surviving in all of that!

  2. Really nice post. Phoenix does have these secret places and you seem to have discovered most of them. So nice.

  3. As always, love your photos – and the commentary of the last one made me laugh. Wishing you an easy, grace-filled, stress-free time while your lovely city is being invaded.

  4. Always so beautiful this little corner of paradise! I have a professional relationship, his son works in Phoenix – it will be seen every year !!
    Have a nice day

  5. Great pictures and great commentary!

  6. Haha!! That last photo and sentiment made me giggle 🙂

  7. I understand your dismay at the influx of visitors. Your post is still impressive for the beautiful images. I hope the commute to work proves less of a problem than you anticipate.

  8. Being non-American I off course don’t have much of a relationship with Super Bowl. As for yourself, at least it’s good for you that you have found a secret respite. And so beautiful. You photos from the respite are simply wonderful.

  9. You have outdone your self Candace- I think this series is my favorite. Just beautiful- I really like how you shot the cactus- so pretty. Thank you for the blog recommendation today to.
    Enjoy your quiet while you can!

  10. wonderful pictures!

Leave a Reply

