An Egret Study

DSC_9785

DSC_9809

DSC_9783

On the same cloudy and rainy day that I got the first 2 photos in my last 2 posts (Flicker, Goose), I was able to hang out with this Great Egret at my favorite park, Granada. It’s the first time I’ve seen an egret at that particular park and, as I was leaving a little later, I saw this one and a buddy head back to the lake.

Crop Face

DSC_9791

I never get tired of watching egrets (and herons) even though they are fairly commonplace and I especially like when one lets me close to it for awhile. Well, until they get skittish or annoyed and take off.

DSC_9799

Chomp

CHOMP! Okay, not really, no ducks were harmed or eaten and he/she wasn’t even trying to get the duck, just an optical illusion…but entertaining.

DSC_9806

DSC_9787

This egret is in full breeding plumage. More than 95 percent of the Great Egrets in North America were killed for their plumes in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Plume-hunting was banned, for the most part, around 1910, and Great Egret populations quickly began to recover.

The Great Egret is the symbol of the National Audubon Society, one of the oldest environmental organizations in North America. Audubon was founded to protect birds from being killed for their feathers.

National_Audubon_Society_logo

9 thoughts on “An Egret Study

  1. Fabulous series of these egrets! I ‘love the flying flush with water !! beautiful shots that requires patience lookout quietly !! Have a good week
    For feathers, they made duvets?

  2. A fine series of this beautiful bird. I”m glad the birds cooperated to let you get some shots before they flew away. I didn’t know the reason for the Audubon Society.

Leave a Reply

