Hummer Action

Hum 6.20.15

There have been a lot of busy hummingbirds in our yard lately…

DSC_2618

DSC_2648

These 2, above, and the one, below, were all taken at the same time so I know they were 3 different hummingbirds.

DSC_2642

DSC_2630

DSC_2625

“High Four!”

DSC_2621

DSC_1598

DSC_1596

Blinky

This is Rico Suave, above, with his bedroom eyes (click to see his long eyelashes).

DSC_2735

Hum in Wind

You can’t tell by this photo, above, except for the blurry branches, but it was the midst of a dust storm and winds were gusting to about 50 mph. This guy was hanging on tight. Apparently their feet “lock” so they don’t have to worry about losing their grip.

DSC_1604

Hummer Swing

I’ve seen a lot of photos in some birding groups I’m in where the hummers perch on little swings, thereby making for some lovely photo opps. It’s just a matter of placing it where they will like it. So I got this little copper one and hope it gets some use…

 

 

7 responses to “Hummer Action

  1. Excellent photos! We had few visits from the hummers so far this summer, but the last week the volume of visits has picked up. Sure love to see them!

  2. How I love seeing your hummers – I never see them here. And how amazing about the locking feet. I’m sure they’ll love your pretty little swing.

  3. A beautiful detailed series – Too funny with his paw raised !!
    Have a good week

  4. They are just adorable, Candace, and what a beauty the little brown one is!
    Have a wonderful week ahead.

  5. A very good series of hummingbird images. I liked see the eyebrows of that close up. I’ve never seen a brown hummingbird. A fine post.

  6. I wish I knew how to identify hummingbirds! I was renting a house last year and they had hummingbird feeders up, so they were frequent visitors. I had to refill the sugar water every day in the summer, they’d go through it so quickly. Great pictures Candace, thanks for identifying them. 🙂

  7. great closeups, Candace. we have 4-5 (a mix of Anna’s and Rufouses) who are regulars here, but there is no sharing the three feeders in the backyard or the fourth one at the front. lots of screaming, chasing, and flying, as a matter of fact.

    good to know about the locking feet — I always wondered why hummingbirds in torpor don’t fall off their perch. 🙂

Leave a Reply

