Summer at Granada

Ring Necked Duck

Granada Park, as I’ve mentioned before, is my main “go-to” birding location. It’s close to home, has 2 small lakes (ponds), desert trails, and is at the foot of Piestewa Peak. From November to June, I went at least once a week but, in June, due to the heat, I kinda wimped out and only went once the whole month. So far, in July, I’ve gone twice, and last weekend had a good yield for me. So here are some photos of summer in Granada.

Ring-Necked Duck

This Ring-Necked Duck (drake), above 2 photos, is actually a rarity this time of year in Phoenix. They normally migrate but I saw him (or another just like him) last summer, too, so I wonder if he can’t fly or if he just likes Granada. He has plenty of other park ducks to hang out with but none of his own kind. When fall comes, though, his friends will return.

Flicker 2_edited-1Gilded Flicker, male

This handsome guy appears to have been snatched from the talons of death just in the nick of time. I don’t know if tail feathers grow back, hope so. Bet it hurt but he was lucky.

Kestrel 1_edited-1American Kestrel, male

He might have been the culprit because kestrels are small but fierce.

Common RavenCommon Raven

I never see crows or ravens here but I did.

Goose 2

Goose 1Domestic Goose

This goose is a full-time resident and pretty bossy.

WW DoveWhite-Winged Dove

FinchHouse Finches

Heron 1Green Heron

Nighthawk_edited-1Lesser Nighthawk

HumAnna’s Hummingbird

SparrowHouse Sparrow, male

NestVerdin Nest

Sag

Sag Holes

One of the 2 remaining saguaros in the park after the last one collapsed.

DSC_3033Ash-Throated Flycatcher (LIFER)

DSC_3039

Georgie

This is Georgie, who I have gotten to know at the park, along with her mom. But they are moving out-of-state in a few days so I won’t see this pretty girl there anymore. The lake won’t be the same without Georgie fetching her ball over and over.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Summer at Granada

  1. An excellent variety of birds in this post. I like how you get such high quality close in shots of them too. I enjoy seeing what the bird’s names are. I hope the old looking cactus makes it for several more years.

Leave a Reply

