Transition/Transformation

Queen 1

Queen Butterfly

Queen 2

Queen 3

Queen 4

Today, July 31, was going to be a very special day for me…the day of my retirement after (literally) decades of working for a large, local healthcare organization. However, due to a request to stay for awhile until something in particular occurs there, I agreed to remain there part time for another couple of months, maybe 3-4, but not more than that. I was both excited and apprehensive to retire and I am both disappointed and slightly relieved to be staying a little longer. It’s been hard to make a decision.

DSC_1665

Fiery Skipper

Skip 1

Skip 2

So, while today is not the occasion I had planned, and the celebration is not yet commencing, I will now only work 3 days a week and have a 4 day weekend EVERY WEEK! And the end is in sight…

Butterfly Symbolism

What is the meaning of the butterfly? This animal totem is primarily associated with symbolism of change and transformation.

Powerful transformation, metamorphosis in your life, personality
Moving through different life cycles
Renewal, rebirth
Lightness of being, playfulness
Elevation from earthly matters, tuning into emotional or spiritual
The world of the soul, the psyche

Dfly 2_edited-1

Saddlebags

Roseate Skimmer

Roseate Skimmer

Dragonfly Meaning

The dragonfly is generally associated with the symbolic meaning of transformation. Common meanings for this animal totem:

Change and transformation
Adaptability
Joy, lightness of being
Symbol of the realm of emotions, invitation to dive deeper into your feeling
Being on the lookout for illusions and deceits, whether external or personal
Connection with nature’s spirits, fairies’ realms

(From Spirit Animals & Animal Totems)

That’s what I’m looking for: change, transformation, joy, lightness of being. I want to take more photos, see more birds, learn more, have more fun, do something meaningful and fulfilling to me…I’m hoping that the best times are yet to come…

5 responses to “Transition/Transformation

  1. Fantastic pictures and a wonderful story. This opportunity will offer you the change to make the transition easier. I consulted for one year it made the transition easier.

  2. An interesting philosophical post. My retirement was taken care of when three physicians sent me home for good. Don’t work at night, don’t do weekends, don’t visit here. Quit! 🙂 I’m glad you will have reduced involvement without totally leaving yet. That gives you time to reflect on the decision and what it means for your future.

  3. Amazing photos!

  4. A very big congratulations to you on your upcoming retirement, Candace. I am sure it will be bittersweet, but I’ll just bet that you’ll fill your time with the most wonderful things, like these beautiful images! 🙂

  5. Love your work – and now get to look forward to more of it!

Leave a Reply

