Granada Revisited

VerdinVerdin

Despite the continuing miserable heat and additional humidity of our monsoon season, I am still attempting to get to Granada Park at least once a week to see who might be hanging out there. These are from my last 2 trips there in the last couple of weeks, one with a new birding friend, Marika.

Finch?House Finch, possibly molting

Although I’m not usually overwhelmed with the quantity of birds, I normally see an interesting thing or 2 on my 2 mile walk or at least get a couple photos I like.

Bunny

I dropped by there late one afternoon (when it was extra hot!) and was surprised to see dozens of cottontails hanging out together. And I also saw about ten  nighthawks. The below photo is from a few weeks ago but the following 2 were taken on this same visit. I generally go in the morning so the wildlife was a little different in the afternoon.

Lesser Nighthawk 2Lesser Nighthawk

NH Fly

Nighthawk JuviLesser Nighthawk, juvenile

SquirrelHarris’s Antelope Squirrel

KestrelAmerican Kestrel, male

LovebirdRosy-faced Lovebird

I always look for this little guy, below, as he spends the whole summer at one of the lakes at Granada, and was there last summer, too. Soon, his relatives will be migrating here for the winter and I won’t be able to pick him out of the crowd anymore. I don’t know why he stays, he looks healthy. Maybe he just likes it here.

Ring-Necked DuckRing-necked Duck

We are in fall migration now so it’s the time to watch for birds not usually seen in your area (interesting article on migratory pathways). This was a lifer, hope to get plenty more this season! He was there just long enough for me to fire off one shot and off he went:

Western Tanager_edited-1Western Tanager

3 responses to “Granada Revisited

  1. Awww…the bunny is so cute. The rest are pretty awesome also.

  2. Love the photos and the young hare!

  3. A fine series of bird pictures plus a great one a huge eared rabbit. I’m glad you don’t let the weather conditions make give your bird trips.

Leave a Reply

