Fall at the Parks

Says 2_edited-1

Says 6_edited-2

Says 4_edited-1Say’s Phoebe

Earlier this week, I went to a new-to-me park in Scottsdale (Northsight Park) because I had seen photos in my birding group of a cooperative male Vermilion Flycatcher spotted there. They’re really not very common in the city although outside of the city, you can find them often, especially in riparian areas. They are gorgeous birds. I’ve seen one back before I had a longer lens so my shots are not very good and I was hoping to get some closer photos. But, it was not meant to be, I guess. I did see the above Say’s Phoebe, only the second one I’ve seen, who posed nicely for me.

Saw a gazillion of these guys (this one is a girl), which are very plentiful here this time of year:

YRWA_edited-1Yellow-Rumped Warbler, Audubon’s

Cactus WrenCactus Wren

A few miles down the road, at Scottsdale Xeriscape Garden, a few more birds let me photograph them.

Gila 2

Gila 3

GilaGila Woodpecker, male

MockNorthern Mockingbird

DSC_4954_edited-1Rosy-Faced Lovebird

DSC_4962Tree Lizard

GrackleGreat-Tailed Grackle, male

I also saw a Cooper’s Hawk but the pics are bad. And, finally, this happy hummingbird was enjoying the fall colors of a Mexican Bird of Paradise.

Hum 1

Hum 2

Hum 3

Today is “supposed” to be the last day of 100 plus temps this year!!!!! Low 90s tomorrow and heading into the upper 80s.

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 10.11.29 AM

♥ That makes Phoenicians happy! ♥

4 thoughts on “Fall at the Parks

  1. Great photos, but the star is that little Phoebe! What a pretty little one!
    I remember how good it felt when the weather began to cool there. (This morning we had frost on the trail here).

    Like

  2. Low 90s???? I would love that right now.
    We are at about 34 degrees here in NY, and saw our first few snowflakes this morning.

    Always love to see your feathered friends, Candace. That little hummingbird is especially adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

