Slow Birding Week

Gaillardia 11.6.15

It was a slow week for birding. I went to a place that I used to stop in at on my way home from work, that was lush and dark, where I used to get some good shots but most of the trees had been cut down so there were no birds! Very sad and disappointing. So that left only my old standby, Granada Park, and our yard as my birding destinations for the past week.

Hum 11.2.15

Gazania 2 11.7.15

Hum 11.7.15

I’ve strategically placed a few more pots of flowers around in an attempt to have some nice backdrops (and nectar) for the many hummers who frequent our yard but, so far, they still prefer the tree branches and feeders.

Hum 10.30.15

Wouldn’t these guys look prettier if they were sipping from flowers or at least closer to flowers?

Hummers 2 11.2.15“Buzz off!”

Purple Basil 11.7.15

DSC_2166

Gazania 3 11.7.15

Hum Front 11.2.15Anna’s Hummingbirds

Gaillardia 2 11.7.15

And attracting more butterflies would be a plus, too, although they seem to prefer our lantana.

Skip 11.7.15

Skippers 2 11.2.15

And this is all I saw at  Granada Park:

DSC_5245Mourning Doves

DSC_5249

A butterball? A snowball? Maybe a domestic goose, napping.

DSC_5263American Kestrel, male

DSC_5260

DSC_5268Queen Butterfly

Hoping for some more exotic locales in the near future…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

4 responses to “Slow Birding Week

  1. Hummers and flowers look extra good to me this time of year. It will be many months until I see either again here. Excellent photos as always!

  2. Nice details of nature !! Preference for photos: 5 – 6 of this beautiful series

  3. You developed a fine series despite the slow start. I enjoyed seeing the birds and the flowers.

  4. I loved seeing the birds, butterflies and flowers that you found! Have a wonderful week 🙂

Leave a Reply

