Fountain Hills

Fountain

Ftn Lake

Fountain Hills, AZ, is home to a world-famous fountain that operates daily and shoots water 562 feet high. I was there on December 15th and today, New Year’s Day, Tony and I went back. Fountain Park is a beautiful place with a 29 acre lake and the park is filled with sculptures and recreation areas. It has changed a lot since the last time I was there years ago. This is my favorite sculpture there:

Heron Sculp FH

But…the reason I initially went was because I wanted to see these guys, and I did…fun-loving Hooded Mergansers, a lifer. Both drakes and hens were there.

Hoodie Boy 4

Hoodies M and F

Hoodie Up

Hoodie Group

Hoodie Girl 2

Hoodie Couple 2

Hoodie Boy

2 Hoodies

The second lifer I saw there was this female Common Goldeneye:

Goldeneye 2

And the third lifer I saw, today, to start out 2016, was this Eared Grebe.

Eared Grebe 1

Love those red eyes. And I also saw these guys:

Ruddy BoyRuddy Duck, male

Ruddy GirlRuddy Duck, female

Pied-Billed GrebePied-billed Grebe

Shovelers ChurningNorthern Shovelers, churning up their food

Spotted Sandpiper FH

Spotted SandpiperSpotted Sandpiper

The first day I was there, which was cold and windy, I also saw these birds:

GrackleGreat-tailed Grackle, female

RWBB 2

RWBBRed-winged Blackbird, male

Say's Phoebe 2

Say's PhoebeSay’s Phoebe

SparrowHouse Sparrow, female

I hope the new year has started out fortuitously for you, too.

Happy 2016!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 responses to “Fountain Hills

  1. Beautiful photos Candace! I can only imagine how that has changed since I first saw it, which was on one of the first days the big fountain was turned on. We were coming back from a camping trip and saw it from the BeeLine Highway. I had to go investigate because I couldn’t imagine a stream of water that high in the air!

  2. Happy New Year to you too!

  3. Superb ducks !!! they were at the hairdresser for end of year festivities !! Happy New Year to you Candace

  4. That foundation is amazing. I enjoyed see all the birds and the ducks are so cute with the wonderful coloring. As far as I know we only have the red-winged blackbird and sparrows where I live.

  5. Beautiful pictures!

  6. Happy 2016! The photos are beautiful, as usual!

Leave a Reply

