Bird Patio, Part 1

GilaGila Woodpecker, male

Gila Female 2

Gila FemaleGila Woodpecker, female

In my last post, I mentioned that I went to a birding friend’s house in Apache Junction after she, two other friends, and I met at Gilbert Riparian Preserve. Well, as fun as Gilbert was and as cool as getting 8 lifers there was, going to Samantha’s house was the icing on the cake and one of the best birding experiences I’ve had.

Samantha's Patio

I didn’t have a wide angle lens with me but this is a photo that Samantha took awhile ago (I have her permission to post it here). She has a phenomenal patio that looks out over a wash with the Superstition Mountains beyond. In the foreground, you can see her hummingbird and bird feeders but what you can’t see are all the beautiful perches she also has for the birds.

Flicker F

Flicker 3Gilded Flicker, female

She hides suet, seed, peanuts, etc. on them and the birds come flying in to search for the food thereby providing attractive and closeup photo opportunities.

Blackjack 1

Blackjack 2

Blackjack 3Curve-billed Thrasher, melanistic

This handsome guy above, Blackjack, is much darker than a typical Curve-billed Thrasher and is a topic of interest among local birding experts.

Cactus WrenCactus Wren, Arizona State Bird

Finch M

3 Finches

Finch CoupleHouse Finches, male and female

Abert's Towhee

Towhee 2Abert’s Towhee

I don’t count birds on my life list unless I’ve seen and photographed them since beginning birding so, although I grew up in Illinois and Indiana and used to see Northern Cardinals (the State Bird of both those states) all the time, I had yet to see them in Arizona. I knew Samantha had them in her yard frequently so I was hoping they would drop in. I got half my wish…and I was excited!

Cardinal 2

Cardinal 5_edited-1

Cardinal 3

Cardinal 1

Cardinal 4Northern Cardinal, female

The males are more timid, unfortunately, but she’s so beautiful anyway. Samantha said the boy showed up later that afternoon after we had left, of course.

Anna'sAnna’s Hummingbird, male

Anna's 2Anna’s Hummingbird, female

Her hummingbird feeders attract a ton of hummers but I was concentrating on the other birds more.

Next time, more birds from this awesome bird patio..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 responses to “Bird Patio, Part 1

  1. Beautiful images as usual. What a lovely view of Superstition MT , love the colors of the dessert- so pretty. Do you hide in the bushes when you take pictures of the birds or are you seemingly always in the right place at the right time. I miss the birds and their cheerful song- can’t wait for spring. Have a wonderful weekend

  2. Terrific photos! That must be a bird paradise! It would be wonderful to have them around all year!

  3. These photographs are fantastic, Candace.
    That little woodpecker is really beautiful.

  4. Fabulous all the way around!

  5. What beautiful birds still !! so well photographed – I like the cardinal !!

  6. Great shots Candace.

  7. A collection of great bird pictures exceeding former collections. Very well done.

  8. dianeschuller.com

    your friend has a great idea for hiding bird goodies. Some really terrific images as usual Candace

Leave a Reply

