Backyard Enticements

OCWA Orange 2 2.16.16

My favorite little model lately has been this Orange-crowned Warbler. It loves to eat the oranges I put out in the mesquite tree everyday. I’m afraid it will be leaving soon to migrate north as it’s been unseasonably warm here.

OCWA Orange 4 2.2.16

OCWA Orange 2.16.16

OCWA Orange 5 2.2.16

OCWA 2.9.15

I’ll miss this little cutie. The orange is a popular spot, though. Sometimes there’s a line.

Thrasher Orange 2Curve-billed Thrasher

Sparrow OrangeHouse Sparrow, male

Starling OrangeEuropean Starling

Verdin Orange 1.19.15

Verdin Orange 2.2.16Verdin

And two Verdins are building a nest in our pine tree. Verdins build several nests a year, some for breeding, some for roosting, so time will tell which it is.

Verdin 2.18.16

Verdin Pine 2

Verdin Pine

Nectar break:

Verdin 2.10.16

There’s also pink grapefruit out there sometimes but it’s not nearly as popular. But this little female House Finch likes it and there’s no waiting.

House Finch F 2.20.16

The birdbath is also a popular spot.

Mock Display 2.12.16

Mock Display 2Northern Mockingbird

TowheeAbert’s Towhee

Grackle Female copyGreat-tailed Grackle, female

And because I don’t want to encourage the birds to forage on the ground in harm’s way from the cats, I try to think up things I can feed them that won’t drop to the ground. Yum, pine cones coated in peanut butter is a new, delicious treat. You can add seed and suet but I’m not doing that. I don’t know how this will work when it’s 110 degrees but it’s working right now.

Pine Cone PB

Sparrow Pine Cone

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 responses to “Backyard Enticements

  1. I like all of these, but the little warbler is really cute! It would be very welcome here for the summer!

  2. Oh my goodness, the expression on the grackle’s face is priceless, Candace!
    Your feathered friends are just beautiful.

  3. Love it! Didn’t know birds liked citrus so much!

  4. I enjoyed this post very much. I haven’t seen citrus fruits used as feed in this part of the country.

  5. Happy birds with vitamins available

  6. dianeschuller.com

    When we lived on the farm, I sometimes timed it correctly to get my oranges out for the passing through Orioles. Here on the west coast it’s harder to learn when to get the oranges out. I suspect it’s already too late. I love those darling Verdins.

Leave a Reply

