Visions of Yellow

WIWA M1

WIWA M Lemon

WIWA M2Wilson’s Warbler, male

Wilson's Warbler F

WWF 3Wilson’s Warbler, female

It’s that happy time of year again, Warbler Season, when the migrating warblers pass through our area on the way to their northern summer breeding grounds. These two Wilson’s Warblers were in my yard. I only saw the female once but the male has been around a couple days so far.

I saw some at the Desert Botanical Garden (DBG), too, where I also saw this warbler (which I think is a female but I’m not positive). I saw one of these last year in the same exact Mesquite tree but the photo I got was pretty bad):

MacGillivray's Warbler

MacGillivray's 3MacGillivray’s Warbler

Warblers are really hard to get photos of because they never stop moving and they like to hide behind branches and leaves all the time.

The following warbler was a lifer and a lot of people are trying to get looks at him! I succeeded on my first day of searching for him at the DBG, flitting around in some Texas Ebony trees.

Hermit Warbler 5

Hermit Warbler 4

Hermit Warbler 3

Hermit Warbler 2

Hermit Warbler 1

Hermit Warbler 6Hermit Warbler, male

OCWA Upside Down

OCWA 2

OCWA 3Orange-crowned Warbler

I also saw some Townsend’s Warblers at the DBG but didn’t get a shot. This is what they look like (from last year at the DBG):

DSC_3955Townsend’s Warbler

There are many, many other kinds of warblers so I hope I get to see something else new and exciting before spring migration ends.

As tiny, bright, and yellow as warblers…these guys were all over at the DBG although I’ve never had any in my yard:

Goldfinch M

GFMLesser Goldfinch, male

GFFLesser Goldfinch, female

Yellow is such a happy color. Happy May Day!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “Visions of Yellow

Leave a Reply

