Whirlwind Tour

Courthouse Butte and Bell Rock

Courthouse ButteCourthouse Butte

Bell RockBell Rock

Eagle RockEagle Rock

Snoopy RockSnoopy Rock

Snoopy was our “target” on the day trip we took to Sedona, Jerome, and Prescott last week with Tony’s sister and her husband (Terri and Jim), visiting from Illinois. We found him pretty quickly and went on to see other sights.

From Airport

From Airport 2

Look at all the houses all over Sedona now! Every time we go, there are more and more houses 😦 littering the lovely landscape.

This was not a birding trip and I didn’t bring my long lens but I was still excited when Jim noticed a flash of blue. It was a beautiful Mountain Scrub Jay, a lifer!

Western Scrub Jay

Jay with Bee

I think he/she has babies tucked away in this little cave. See the bee? I think it became a meal a second later.

W Scrub Jay 3

Not everyone gets to see the elusive Sedona Red Rock bird:

Sedona Bird_edited-1

Then we were on to Jerome. Jerome is a former copper mining town turned ghost town turned artist/biker town turned tourist town. I used to find it very quaint; this time it just seemed more junky to me. Maybe it was just me. The drive up and down is still beautiful, though, complete with many switchbacks.

Building Facade Crop

Connor Hotel

Jerome Gated

Gated Bldg 2

Weiner Dog

Wildfires

There are three wildfires burning now, the view from Jerome of one of them. That is why the sky is hazy in the Sedona photos…

On to Prescott:

Common Raven PrescottCommon Raven

I’ve never been this close to a raven, I guess, because I was shocked it was so huge! It also had a friend in a nearby tree in Prescott’s square. They were very bold; snacks must be bountiful when the tourists are around.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 thoughts on “Whirlwind Tour

  1. Beautiful. A part of the country I’ve never visited. From your comment about Sedona sprawl, it seems lots of people like enough to come and stay.

    Just the other day I was wondering what is the difference between ravens and crows (we have lots of the latter here). Your post reminded me to look it up. I had no idea ravens were so large!

    Like

Leave a Reply

