Black Canyon City

Sag Flower

Sag Distance

Black Canyon City is about 50 miles from our house in central Phoenix. Today I felt like seeing something different and had hopes I would find some lifer birds (nope). I’ve never actually gone into the town before. It’s about 5° cooler there. If I had gone about 15 miles further north to Cordes Junction, it would have been about 10° cooler. Maybe next time.

Vermilion FlycatchersVermilion Flycatchers, female and male

Vermilion FVermilion Flycatcher, female

CW BCCCactus Wren

CW NestCactus Wren Nest (I think)

I do think I saw a lifer, a Summer Tanager, a bright rosy-red bird, but I didn’t get a photo and only got a brief look so I’m not positive. It flew onto private property so I couldn’t pursue it.

BCT Sign

BCC6

BCC5

BCC4

BCC 3

BCC CarMy trusty companion of 9 years

It’s a really pretty area. Just south of Black Canyon City on I-17 is Rock Springs, a small touristy area that is very popular because of its pies…Rock Springs Cafe and General Store.

RS Sign

RS

Lamps BCC

RSC Sign

So I brought one home…

Pie 2Chocolate Cream Pie

If you don’t see me around here for several more days, this is the reason…lack of photos due to this:

Weather 10 Day

7 thoughts on “Black Canyon City

  1. All I have to say about the heat is ” oh my.” I have had a few hummers take a liking to a red salvia we planted in the back yard. They seem to love it. Great photos Candace!

  2. Once again your post brings back some good memories. I liked the area around Rock Springs. That forecast though is one that I’m glad is for about a thousand miles from here! It’s 45 this morning here.

  3. At least it’s a dry heat? After a hot spring we’ve been enjoying a lovely cool stretch up here in the PNW. The last few days have been my idea of perfect weather.

Leave a Reply

