Beating the Heat

Verdin Juvy Orange_edited-1Verdin, immature

Verdin Feeder 6.20.16Verdin, adult

More like trying to beat the heat. Everyone seems to be surviving but looking a little miserable and some of the birds are a little ragged-looking. We have a bird bath, a little pool, and many containers of water all around and the sprinklers go on everyday so they have access to plenty of water and shade.

Suet Melted

My no-melt suet…melted.

Mock BillNorthern Mockingbird (with bill deformity)

I wrote about this guy, above, back in April; he or she is still doing well and I see him often. We had a mini-dust storm and this empty nest blew out of my neighbor’s tree. I think it was this mockingbird’s nest as it is always flying into that tree.

Mock Nest

Sparrow 6.16.16

Sparrow 6.17.16

Sparrow BacksideHouse Sparrow, female

Hib Bud 6.1.16

Hib 2Hibiscus

My hibiscus has had tons of buds and blooms although they are slowing down now with the intense heat. I also haven’t seen many butterflies around. I did see 2 this morning but couldn’t get a good shot.

BCHU F?

Hum Girl 6.20.16_edited-1

I don’t know if these female hummers are Anna’s or Black-chinned. Female hummingbirds are hard to distinguish. We have both kinds in our yard so I’m not sure but leaning toward Black-chinned. I’m open to correction, though.

Thrasher 2 6.14.16

Thrasher 6.17.16“I’m hot!!!!!!”

Thrasher 6.14.16Curve-billed Thrasher

Young Towhee 3

Young Towhee 2

Young TowheeAbert’s Towhee, immature

Dove Fortune

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Beating the Heat

  1. I have never seen a verdin inperson, and probably never will. So, thank you so much for sharing your excellent photos of them. They are so pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds a bit uncomfortable to say the least, Candace.
    Can’t believe that the suet actually melted!!!!
    Hope you get some lower temps real soon. It’s been comfortably warm here in NY, but over the past few days, the humidity has been a bit tough. We are finally getting some much needed rain.

    Love, love, love that hibiscus!! The colors remind me of a beautiful sunrise.
    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

