Little Free Library Tour

27 Flower 1

27 Flower 2

27 Flower 3

27 Flower 4

Summertime is for a lot of things…even reading, right? Whether it’s because you live in steamy hot Phoenix where reading is one of the few things you can do or you enjoy reading on a nice sandy beach or poolside, it’s a fun pastime. So I went on a self-guided tour of 5 Little Free Libraries the other day. None of these are in my immediate neighborhood but they are in my general area, central Phoenix. This was my favorite; it was gorgeous with mosaic tile on it. The whole yard was full of beautiful artistic touches…I wish I knew the owners and could be friends with them!

27 Flower Totem

27 Flower Bird

And it looks like they like birds!

27 Flower Cat

And cats! We need to be friends!!!

Georgia 1

This one was also very pretty, matching their house. It’s such a nice thing to do, I think, to promote literacy and build community by maintaining one of these libraries. It’s a great way to get to know your neighbors.

Georgia 2

LFL

Pinchot 1

This library also matched the vivid blue trim on their house. This particular one seemed to be mostly full of children’s books.

Pinchot 2

I like how there is a little bench by the next one so you can peruse before you choose your book. Very welcoming.

Sheridan 1

Sheridan 2

Sheridan 3

Do you have any in your neighborhood? Would you like one? I definitely want one but we have sprinklers in our yard that would damage it fairly soon, I think, so I’m trying to figure out how we could get around that. This is the one I would like from the Little Free Library website: the Urban Reader. It’s also one of the cheaper ones they have and it’s made of stucco so I’m thinking it might be more durable. Then you fill it with some books and become the “steward” of your library. You can register it on their website so that it shows up on the map and you’re in business! (You don’t have to use their libraries if you prefer to build or make one yourself. I’m considering making a portable one out of a wooden crate with wheels so I can bring it in at night.)

getonthemap

Here’s the 5th library I saw but this one seems a little weather-beaten and it apparently is not a registered Little Free Library. It still had some good books in it and serves the same purpose.

Flynn

No little free libraries around you? Everyone but me probably knew this already but most public libraries now have e-books you can download to your various e-readers for FREE! All these years I’ve been helping Amazon grow when I could have gotten a lot of them for nothing. The only drawback is you (at least in the case of the Phoenix Public Library) only have 2 weeks before the book disappears from your device but sometimes you can renew. If the book is really good, 2 weeks is more than enough time to finish it.

Kindle_edited-1

The book above (that I paid for) is one of my 2 favorite books I’ve read so far this summer. The other is this one, by a local Phoenix journalist and author (that I also paid for, in hardback):

41KTktOsMJL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

Check ’em out!

Edit: Phoenix New Times used some of the photos from this blog post on their blog!

 

8 responses to “Little Free Library Tour

  1. I love the idea of those little free libraries! Up here we still have “bookmobiles”.

  2. Just too cute. I love this.

  3. I don’t know of any free libraries in Spokane. It’s a grand idea. I enjoyed seeing the book cases people had created.

  4. A nice idea these small houses for reading !! nice cultural sharing

  5. I’m a big fan of this movement. We now have two in our small town. Great post.

  6. What a fun idea to tour your area’s little libraries, and I love that we got to peek at them as well. I definitely vote for you to set up one of your own – a library with lots of cat friends sounds perfect to me.

  7. Thank you for the butterfly postcard and mention of my Little Free Library in your blog. The pictures of my art are fun to see. I am a mosaic artist and love adding color and interest to my home. Next time you come by, come on through the gate to my house in the back and say hello!

  8. hi candace. i love these pix. i edit the news blog for phoenix new times — would you allow me to post them with a story we’re about to publish about little free libraries? please let me know asap. would credit of course. i’d also like to share link to your wordpress blog post about the libraries. can you email me asap? thanks!

Leave a Reply

