Lookout Park

SJ Lookout 1

SJ Lookout 2

SJ LO 3

As my mother and I left St. Joseph, Michigan, we stopped at another spot along the shore called Lookout Park. This park is along a cliff overlooking the lake and is a beautiful spot for just sitting and gazing out over Lake Michigan. You can park right along there and we saw many locals pulling in and eating dinner in their cars.

There used to be houses along this stretch but, in 1954, after a prolonged rain and previous erosion, the houses started to slide into the lake. I guess a couple of them did. Others were moved to other locations and this park was created to memorialize that event. Fortunately, no lives were lost. Across the street from this park are a lot of beautiful old homes from the same era that overlook the lake, too.

Gull Flying

Another point of interest in St. Joe is this railroad swing bridge that is still in operation a couple of times a day. Years ago, I saw it working.

Swing Bridge 2

Swing Bridge

Here’s a short video of it in operation:

And, to finish off my trip to the midwest, I saw a bird that is seldom seen in Phoenix but all over the midwest:

RobinAmerican Robin

Cardinal BlessingNorthern Cardinal, male

The Northern Cardinal is Indiana’s State Bird and I did see them everywhere…as flashes of red darting through trees. I didn’t get one good photo of any!

Cardinal Silhouette

Cardinal 2

Baby CardinalNorthern Cardinal, fledgling

Woodpecker Holes

I never saw the woodpecker that is often in my mother’s Sweet Gum tree, unfortunately, because it would have been a different kind than we have in Arizona.

Fungus Among Us

Her tree also had a pretty fungus.

Grass

Bye, Indiana and Michigan, where everything is lush and green.

 

5 responses to “Lookout Park

  1. Always a delight to see the midwest through your eyes (and camera lens)!

  2. Very refreshing to see after the hot summer we had here! All of that green looks so good! I think you chose exactly the right time of year to visit.

  3. This impressive variety makes a very interesting post. I liked the video.

  4. I consider myself a railroad buff and I had never seen a swing bridge before.

  5. What a wonderful time for both you and your mom, Candace!
    It looks like you were in a really lovely area.

Leave a Reply

