September in My Yard

hum-multiply_edited-1

My birding has been almost non-existent the last few days even though I keep meaning to go out. Mornings are now cooler although it still gets to around 100° in the afternoons so it’s best to be an early bird. I hope to step it up this week. This is FALL migration, after all!

verdin-8-30-16Verdin

So many people in my Facebook birding group are getting exciting migrants in their yards but not us, yet…I keep looking, though.

hum-3-8-30-16_edited-1

All of the hummers in this post are Anna’s Hummingbirds. Other people in the area are getting Rufous and Black-chinned passing through so I hope to see something different soon. I am very glad that we have our Anna’s year-round, though. It would be lonely without them.

towhee-molt-8-29-16Abert’s Towhee (molting)

sparrow-perch-wingsHouse Sparrow, male

hum-feeder

finch-9-14-16House Finch, male (photobombed by House Sparrow)

thrasher-tongueCurve-billed Thrasher (showing his tongue and peanut)

eucd-9-5-16Eurasian Collared-Dove

And completing the Quadfecta of Doves:

page_1Inca Doves, White-winged Dove, Mourning Dove

hum-9-14-16

So I did possibly (probably) get a new yard bird recently that is also a Life Bird. Many experienced birders agreed that this is a Clay-colored Sparrow (below), which would be somewhat out-of-range, but a couple identified it as a Brewer’s Sparrow which would make it not a Lifer and not a new yard bird.

sparrow-1_edited-1

sparrow-2

I submitted it to eBird but never heard back and I’ve seen a few other people reporting Clay-coloreds in the area so I’m going with that for now. Yard Bird #30. Isn’t he cute and inquisitive looking? I’ve only seen him once; he must have moved on.

hummer-8-23-16

Be on the lookout for new and unusual birds in your areas during this migration period. You might see something awesome.

8 responses to “September in My Yard

  1. Tracey Pappas Crain

    We have two Abert Towhees in our yard & building nest over our wall – our cat caught one today & it is now in corner of our patio – tried to lift wing & I think it is harmed from cat catching – do they tend to recover with rest? No blood but in corner of patio – can you text me at 480 xxx xxxx

  2. Your shots are so good the first one blew me away. Absolutely love the crisp clean bird(s) against that bokeh- just gorgeous. What is the lens you’re using ( sorry asking you again, I forgot)
    Have a wonderful week 🙂

  3. There are lots of species passing through here now. The hummers have already gone. This morning a large flock of Robins was using the water dishes before moving on farther south.

  4. I am sure glad your hummingbirds stay with you all year, because then I can still keep seeing them here. I just love these little guys, and you always photograph them so beautifully.
    Have a wonderful week, Candace!

  5. A fine series and a good suggestion to keep looking for new birds as they pass through.

  6. Nothing but Anna’s (and bats lol) at my feeders here in Tucson yet. Hoping for some migrants soon!

  7. Love seeing your visitors. That clay-colored bird is delightful – looks a bit like he has bedhead.

Leave a Reply

