Back in Circulation

red-eared-terrapinRed-eared Terrapin

towhee-11-5-16

towhee-2-11-5-16Abert’s Towhee

thrasher-granadaCurve-billed Thrasher

mock-closeup

mock-on-wireNorthern Mockingbird

goose-in-woodsDomestic Goose

wigeonAmerican Wigeon

eucd-11-5-16Eurasian Collared-Dove

hum-11-5-16Anna’s Hummingbird, male

Back in February, 2015, I got a new lens for birding, the Sigma 150-500mm. It was on sale. Shortly thereafter, they released 2 versions of a Sigma 150-600mm (hence the sale). I was very happy with my lens and could handhold it whereas the birding friends I knew who got the 150-600mm could not handhold theirs. Those things are huge…but do deliver a very crisp photo. If I was in great light and all, my photos were crisp, too, but as time wore on, I felt it focused sort of slowly and could be sharper so I started thinking about the Nikkor 200-500mm. It was quite a bit heavier and bigger than my lens, though, so I kept stalling because I was afraid I would have to use a tripod or monopod.

Then another acquaintance in my birding group, who is an excellent photographer, and who is able to “test drive” lenses (I don’t really know how he pulls that off) said the new Tamron 150-600mm, 2nd generation, just released in September, was faster and crisper than the Nikkor. I looked at the specs and it was only 4 ounces heavier than my Sigma and just slightly longer so I felt it could still be handheld. It was the same price as the Nikkor so I traded in my Sigma and now have the Tamron.

I really haven’t tried it out much yet. I went out to a park one day and got a few photos but, other than that, have mostly used it in my yard. Our yard is pretty dark so I don’t think I’ve experimented enough yet to gauge the sharpness. The extra few ounces are actually noticeable as far as handholding but I think I’ll get used to that. The extra reach from 500 to 600 is very noticeable. I usually have buyer’s remorse but I’m trying to get over it. I guess I have to say that I just haven’t used it enough, under the right conditions, to know if it is markedly sharper and faster to focus but it has excellent reviews so I’m hopeful.

And here are a couple photos taken with my 18-300mm. These 2 Macaws live at Dig It Urban Gardens and Nursery, where I went the other day.

harleyHarley

blueBlue

skipper-aboveFiery Skipper

 

4 responses to “Back in Circulation

  1. These are the best and most exciting bird pictures I have seen in a long time! Love the Anna’s Hummingbird, and also the terrapin! Wonderful mocking bird pics with blue skies too.

  2. I hope your new lens is all that you hoped for!

  3. Congratulations on your new lens, Candace.
    I have a friend who has this lens and absolutely LOVES it.

    As always, it is such a pleasure to see your beautiful feathered friends here.

  4. The pictures you posted are very sharp. I hope the new lens lives up to its specifications. Let us know you opinion after you used it for many more shots.

Leave a Reply

