Glendale Recharge Ponds

sandpipers-flying

spotted-sandpiperLeast Sandpipers

Most of these photos will be pretty ugly…There is a place I’ve been to a few times just west of Phoenix called Glendale Recharge Ponds. These ponds belong to Salt River Project, one of our electric companies, and they attract a huge amount of waterbirds and shorebirds and quite a few rarities. They are next to New River, which is part of the attraction for the birds. The only problem is it’s a very unattractive area and the birds are usually way out on the ponds so it’s hard to sneak up on them and get good photos.

grp

I was out there a couple weeks ago, again, looking for a specific rare bird…that I never found but here are a few shots of birds I did find there.

spotted-sandpiper-grpSpotted Sandpiper

Western Sandpipers

shovelersNorthern Shovelers

ruddy-duckRuddy Duck

pintailsNorthern Pintails

mergansersCommon Mergansers

green-winged-tealGreen-winged Teal

gadwallsGadwalls

eared-grebeEared Grebe

Although I didn’t find the bird I was looking for (Long-tailed Duck), I did get one lifer there:

buffleheads-2Buffleheads

bufflehead-flyingBufflehead, female

rwbbSavannah Sparrow

These photos give an idea of how “industrial” looking the area is and how it also attracts people who enjoy graffiti and tagging. Even though there are houses nearby, the area is kind of creepy and remote, in my opinion. Almost every time I go there, I’m the only one around.

dsc_6602

dsc_6608

dsc_6618

dsc_6628

dsc_6640

dsc_6641

dsc_6646

dsc_6651

Seriously not my favorite place to go but the variety and quantity of birds there is amazing. There are always several hundred birds in the water plus plenty of raptors flying overhead, including Bald Eagles.

Bald Eagle, immature

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was my 700th post!

6 thoughts on “Glendale Recharge Ponds

  1. A very successful post of the variety of ducks. I also like the descrption and pictures of the area where the birds congregate. The flying buffelhead is a very good action shot.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your 700th post — your blog must let you know the number? I’ve never seen that on my admin page.
    Well you sure got a wide range of pretty ducks despite the unappealing surroundings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

