Spring Fling

Anna’s Hummingbird, male

Giant Swallowtail

Aloe

Black-chinned Hummingbird, male

It is definitely spring here in Phoenix. Sorry if it isn’t where you are. Soon enough, we will be trying not to be miserable while you are basking in lovely weather. We had a lot of rain (for us) this winter so it’s extra vibrant this year. These photos are mostly from my yard but a few are from Scottsdale Xeriscape Garden (the first one and the last 3).

Hibiscus

Geranium

Painted Lady

Lantana

Palo Verde Sap

I noticed this colorful Yellow-rumped Warbler, below, feeding off the aloe and thought he looked unusual. He seems to have the characteristics of two different subspecies, the Myrtle and the Audubon’s. When I got home, I checked with my bird experts and they agreed that he is what is known as an “intergrade.” I think that’s a fancy word for “hybrid.” Anyway, these 2 subspecies only breed in a small area of Alberta, B.C., so he had a long trip down here. They are somewhat uncommon but not really “rare” in Arizona. Nevertheless, I was excited.

Yellow-rumped Warbler Myrtle x Audubon’s Intergrade, male

4 responses to “Spring Fling

  1. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. We’re not blooming here yet, but having a lot of April showers that promise to bring May flowers.

  2. I bet the desert there will be gorgeous this year! (And we had an inch of snow this morning.)

  3. So beautiful, Canadace!
    The colors in that hibiscus remind me of a sunset, and I just love that little hummingbird. 🙂
    Have a wonderful week, my friend!

  4. An excellent post with a little bit of everything. Hi variety makes to post very interesting. You do an excellent job with this kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

