A May Day Bouquet

Black-chinned Hummingbird

A bouquet of birds, I mean. When I was little, living in Illinois, on May Day, we would make construction paper baskets, fill them with flowers (wildflowers, dandelions, flowers from our mothers’ gardens), leave them on a neighbor’s doorstep, ring the doorbell, and run and hide to watch them find their bouquets. Hardly anyone I mention this to knows what I’m talking about but we thought it was very exciting way back then and it really was a tradition (see NPR article). We would also have a May Pole at school. Now May Day is nothing special, I guess.

I just got this pretty copper hummingbird feeder, made by an Arizona artist. She has an Etsy shop where she sells a few different styles. The hummingbirds have been enjoying it even though I have several other feeders out, too, and it’s very easy to maintain. (Disclaimer: I don’t know her personally, I paid for mine, and am not getting a kickback.) 

We have Verdins building nests again in our pine tree. Their nests have the entrance on the bottom.

Curve-billed Thrashers, adult and fledglings

House Finch, male

Costa’s Hummingbird, immature male

House Finch, fledgling

Anna’s Hummingbird

Gambel’s Quail chick

Wilson’s Warbler, male

Lesser Goldfinch, female

These photos were taken in our yard and the last 6 at the Desert Botanical Garden.

Happy May Day!

 

7 thoughts on “A May Day Bouquet

    1. ps I have heard about leaving flowers at doorsteps. How fun and sweet that must have been. Now they have protests on May first. Portland had to put a stop to theirs because a certain group was getting rowdy..):

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have good memories of May Day when I was a kid. Our baskets of wildflowers were always for our Mothers and sometimes one for a favorite aunt. They were big days for us kids. Somehow that tradition has faded away to nothing now as far as I know.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your bird “bouquet.” I hope you picked a basket of flowers for yourself on May Day. Old traditions may fall away, but we get to invent new ones, and I’m all for ones that involve flowers. (and birds). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Another fine series. I like that copper hummingbird feeder. When I was in the service, I went home for a May Day celebration and was called aside the superior officers wondering if I was celebrating a Russian event! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

