Learning the Ropes

This cute little immature Verdin can now eat all by himself. A few days ago I watched him (or one of his siblings) try to figure the big world out with the help of a parent.

“Feed me some orange!”

“Yum!”

“Look, grape jelly, yum!”

“Yum, crawly bugs!”

“Yum, pomegranates!”

“Yum, a dragonfly! Thanks, Mom.”

So I haven’t blogged, haven’t taken many photos, haven’t gone on any day trips, or even birded locally. One of our kitties, Google, who is diabetic, now has kidney disease, too, and was hospitalized for a few days. Now we have a bunch more things we have to do to him in hopes of keeping him alive longer as he’s only 10…sub-q fluids, different meds, testing his glucose twice a day, giving insulin (which he’s been getting for 3 years)…it’s a lot but he’s very sweet and deserves more time, we think.

That, combined with worrying abut my mom and hoping that all is going smoothly with her caregivers back in the midwest, plus the extreme heat and humidity here, has dampened my enthusiasm for all the things I like to do. Hope it comes back someday. Meanwhile, a few minutes in the yard now and then is about all I can do.

Curve-billed Thrasher

Anna’s Hummingbird, male

I haven’t seen the Ladder-backed Woodpecker from my last post again but, since I only go out to put bird food out and seldom stay long, he could very well still be here. I hope to see him again.

All the birds are looking very hot and raggedy now. I believe many of them are also molting, accounting for the stray feathers popping up all over on them.

Gila Woodpecker, male

Google

Google is accepting warm wishes, thoughts, prayers, vibes for his improved health if you want to send any his way.