Phoenix in the Spring

FOS Giant Swallowtail on Lantana
Giant Swallowtail

The butterflies are beginning to show up, but not in great numbers like previous years. But the birds are plentiful. Here’s a little color from my yard.

Sparkles
Anna’s Hummingbird, male
7 Rosy-faced Lovebirds
7 Rosy-faced Lovebirds on a seed wreath we made
Rosy-faced Lovebird
Adult Rosy-faced Lovebird
Rosy-faced Lovebird, Juvenile
Juvenile Rosy-faced Lovebird
Yellow-rumped Warbler, female
Yellow-rumped Warbler, female
Lesser Goldfinch, female
Lesser Goldfinch, female

Gambel's Quail
Gambel’s Quail, male
European Starling
European Starling
Abert's Towhee with Peanut
Abert’s Towhee with peanut
The Watcher
Abert’s Towhee spying on me
Verdin Gathering Nest Materials
Verdin gathering nesting materials
Inca Dove Gathering Nest Materials
Inca Dove gathering nesting materials
Eurasian Collared-Dove
Eurasian Collared-Dove chowing down on peanuts
Dang, I lost my nut!
Northern Mockingbird losing his nut
Buffeted
Northern Mockingbird buffeted by the wind

Well, I could go on and on, I seem to have a lot of photos…my yard is pretty active but I hope to add some new local destinations soon. We’ve had temperatures below normal all winter but it’s going to start hitting the 90s this coming weekend so we may have to escape the heat a bit.

Happy Spring holidays!

6 thoughts on “Phoenix in the Spring

Leave a comment