In the Mood…

Okay, cemeteries creep me out a little but I know not everyone feels that way so I didn’t want this post to be unnecessarily spooky as that seems disrespectful. However, I, personally, would never hang out in a cemetery in the middle of the night alone or anything. Uh-uh. I’ve seen way too many movies that started out that way and ended badly.

This one is large and pretty and has an older (for Phoenix) section, which is where these photos were taken. Over 20 years ago, I lived a mile or so from this cemetery and occasionally rode my bike through it. There was a sign posted that it closed at either dusk or sunset, I can’t remember which. So one late afternoon, I was riding around and suddenly realized it was getting late. When I went back to the entrance gate, it was locked! And the fence was way too high to jump. I can’t tell you how horrified I was. I did get out a few heart-thumping minutes later after being toyed with by a couple of snarky guards driving by.

I don’t think I had gone back there until today…when I had my car and cell phone with me and watched the time carefully. The fact that I seemed to be the only one around did make me uncomfortable and I was glad to leave. Incidentally, the closing time is now listed as 6 pm which removes the ambiguity of dusk or sunset. And the fence is now definitely hoppable, if necessary. Maybe I wasn’t the only one trapped in there…that is spooky.

Oh, and the mausoleum with the barred window? Is that to keep someone in or someone out? And why does it seem to be a bit ajar?

If it makes you wonder, then Happy Early Halloween.