Late Fall in IN and AZ

This is my mother’s yard in northern Indiana less than 2 weeks ago.

This is my yard last Friday.

I used both of these for my 52 Project, which I am happy to say, only has 5 weeks remaining. I’ve been reading on some other blogs I follow, as well as from some of my Flickr contacts, that they are excited to have their 365 projects almost over, too. When I decided to do a 52 last January 1st (with all of them being multiple images), it was because I didn’t want to commit to a 365 but I thought it might lead up to a 365. Nope. I know a lot of you take photos everyday and post everyday even without considering it a 365 but I just can’t. I pretty much only like outdoor photography and, with work lasting until 5 everyday, it makes it difficult to shoot daily…especially in the winter when it gets dark before 6pm. I found that the added pressure (I know, not a very big pressure) of feeling I had to get an image for my 52 was a deterrent rather than an incentive.

I have learned that I can find my own projects to shoot so I don’t need to have the stimulus of a 52 or 365 to force me to do so. And I’ve found a lot of interesting online photo workshops or classes that could provide that impetus if I need it. Not to mention, there are countless Flickr groups that provide themes if one needs that little extra encouragement to shoot now and then (Bench Monday, Fence Friday, 64 Colors, etc.). I found several that appealed to me that I will probably participate in more actively in 2011.

This coming year, I am going to continue with my mural project in central Phoenix as well as a project documenting historic churches in the downtown area. Having photos for my blog is the major force that will drive me to photograph, I think.

What about you? Do you have any new projects you want to pursue in the upcoming year? Or did you learn anything from what you photographed in 2010 that will change what you do in 2011? Does your blog force you to photograph when you might not do so otherwise? Can you really shoot everyday?