Major Learning Curve

DSC_0090

DSC_0047

Ugh, I’m frustrated with my new camera (the Nikon D7100)~not really it but, rather, my slow learning curve with it. I just finally fired off a bunch of shots this afternoon but I have a lot of settings I need to change because I’m not happy with these shots.

DSC_0105

DSC_0067

I sort of prefer manual focus but these were all done auto focus to take advantage of the 51 points of focus that is touted in the reviews. But now I know I have some things not set optimally and have to change them.

DSC_0132

I also shot in the 1.3x crop mode but I still further cropped in post processing so I don’t like the look of these.

Oh, well, this little guy is cute and was trying to be a good model for me. If the sun had caught his head right, you could see all the red but it didn’t. He’s a male Anna’s hummingbird, I believe. You can catch a glimpse of red in the 3rd photo and a little bit on the top of his head below.

DSC_0079

So, it’s back to reading more and messing with the bazillion settings again. I need a one-on-one coaching session.